Why I Shut Off Facebook’s Spotify Integration

by aepxc

Yesterday, I logged into Facebook and saw that my friend James had shared a song I hadn’t heard. It was a collaboration between hip hop artist MF Doom and two members of the band Radiohead, hosted on Soundcloud. The link was shared manually and deliberately with a note reading, “This is awesome.”

This type of curated, intentional sharing is what makes social networking useful. I knew that a friend of mine had not only listened to the song, but that he especially liked it. And it was just one song. Not several dozen.

What’s far less useful to me is seeing that my friend Evan listened to two entire albums on Spotify, or that my friend Kait is apparently listening to her entire library on shuffle. While some of this information has value, a constant flow of it just amounts to noise.

